Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Gathering

I first met D after work on a Friday in January 1991, my new boyfriend wanted to introduce his work-mate to his new girlfriend. D eyed me suspiciously and told me never, ever to hurt his pal, and I promised I wouldn't.
Over the years I got to know all his family: his foster mum, his daughters, his ex-wife and both her parents, his second wife and his step-daughter. All of them good kind people with their feet firmly on the ground, hardly an aspiration between them.
Polly was his ex-wife's step-mum and it was because of these wonderfully convoluted relationships to other people that I hit on the idea for Spouse's 50th birthday party of giving everyone name-badges to explain their relationship to Spouse, including Spouse's ex-wife's partner. When divorces go nicely there's an opportunity for huge extended families to share in each other's joy or heartbreak.

D was a Barnado's kid and it was because I'd been unable to keep the promise I had made to him that Friday after work in January 1991 that I popped into their shop in Bury St Edmunds on the day my divorce kicked off.
Since then (though not because of that) D has changed his allegiance, has no contact with ex-Spouse and treats me like a princess.
That's who I was off to visit on the Lincolnshire coast on Friday.
Yes he'd come to collect me from the railway station, but could I remember how to find his parking spot from two years ago? Yes I could. This was my pre-warning that his health has deteriorated to a point where even a few steps means he needs to stop and hold onto something to refill his lungs.
Once inside the car he told me that his wife didn't wish to appear rude, but she needs huge amounts of sleep and she was worried I'd think she was snubbing me if she went to bed early. Of course I wouldn't think that! I know what it's like to be unwell, and she has suffered far worse health than I have. To be perfectly honest, I'm just so glad that they are both still around, functioning from the neck up and that they have physical support from a daughter and a grand-son.
And so it was that my holiday has involved no walks along the beach. We've been nowhere, done nothing, had a bit of a chat. It's been good for me to just step away from myself for a bit, but I'm looking forward to the exercise my ride back into work will bring tomorrow, my veins feel like they're solidifying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.