Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Epidavros

The ancient theatre of Epidavros here; in Hellenistic times it was used by priests and initially participants & public were only men. Apart from holy ceremonies theatre was performed here too... Panta Rei

Not only this theatre is here, but also the archaeological site of temple and dormatry for Pilgrims to this place of Asklepios.

My hiking son loved getting here too.
I spoke a guard who had his camera with large tele lens next to him on a table; he showed me various of his beautiful foto's of birds that frequent that place... owls, tits, kestrals etc. I gave him Blip.com ~ perhaps he'll join us?!

The spot in the centre of the theatre is from where a whisper is loud enough to be heard all over the theatre... a visitor stood there and sang her Happy Birthday song to her nephew in the theatre after she finished she was repremanded seriously by a guard! It's not allowed to sing or dance on stage (anymore.. in earlier visits I saw & heard it was welcome) without a permission from the department of tourism! What bullocks is this?!

The other day in Olympia I was seriously refused in same words to take a picture with my glass ball.. I needed permission from same departement for such! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.