Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

GreenFinch Chest Feathers

The only reason I have been able to take this image is due to murder in the garden. I can't even remember seeing a greenfinch this year but somehow a feline killing machine managed to find one and bring it down to earth with a bump.

I'd never had the chance to study the way the small chest feathers were organised but it appears that they are like small balls with the 'stalks' radiating from single points. The colouration is interesting with the top 20% of each feather having this green hue.

I used a recently acquired Sigma 150mm F/2.8 macro for the shot. I like the fact it has a lens mount. 9 shots as a focus stack taken into Helicon Focus then a final tweek on the clarity and sharpness sliders in Lightroom.

ps Just to clarify the feathers are no longer attached to the greenfinch. That would be gruesome, even for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.