Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Woodland Floor Walk

I hadn't been to Hughenden Manor for a while, so headed over today for a wander, making the most of this "Indian Summer" Autumn weather we are experiencing in the UK. 

The manor was the home of Benjamin Disraeli, a prominent British prime minister and favourite of Queen Victoria, and today the public rooms are much as he and his wife, Mary Ann, would have created and known them. However, of even more interest to me were the WWII displays of the work of the RAF map makers who worked, in secret, in the manor drawing the maps from aerial photographs used to guide bomber crews to key locations for bombing raids.  The manor, code name "Hillside", was commandeered to provide to help produce the maps and helped end the war.

After steeping myself in history and eating my picnic lunch watching red kite flying overhead (extra) I took a walk round the estate.  This view is of a path through the surround woodlands looking back towards the house. I'd like to say I was lying on the ground when I took it as a nod to the Wide Wednesday Challenge, but the articulated screen of today's modern cameras make this unnecessary (Phew, I might have struggled to get back up!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.