There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Just a Girl, Trying on the Big Shoes / Black Hats

My husband and I visited my mother-in-law at Homewood at Martinsburg on this day, and we went out for a very late lunch at nearby Traditions, which is a restaurant with quite a large and diverse gift shop. I had the appetizer sampler platter, my husband had the haddock filet sandwich, and my mother-in-law had the Philly cheesesteak. Portions were generous; everything was good.

After the meal, I checked out the gift shop for about five minutes. I had not been in the apparel section before, and I discovered two big shoes: one of which was the Skechers sneaker you can see me stepping into in the photo above. Yes, I am a shoe lover; when I go out shopping, trying on shoes is an activity you will frequently find me engaged in!

The big sneaker was pretty cool, but these shoes are WAY too big for me! I do like the colorful sparkles on the front of them, though. Oh, and the shoes I'm wearing? Those are my adorable floral Crocs, which are quite comfy!

In other clothing news, they had a whole section of men's hats. Pretty much every single one was black! (See hat photo in the extras.) There are plenty of Amish who live nearby, and I imagine they are eager customers for such hats. I laughed to remember Henry Ford's quote: "Any customer can have a car painted any color that he wants, so long as it is black." And so it is here, but with HATS!

I need a song for trying on shoes, and I couldn't decide, so here are two favorites: Peter Gabriel, with Big Time; and Paul Simon, with Diamonds on the Tops - excuse me, SOLES - of Her Shoes!

And we need a song for the hats. So here is Ciara, with the Rolling Stones classic, Paint It, Black (and yes, my dear editorial types, there IS a comma in there). For the easily amused (which includes yours truly), here is a fun cover by Kevin Bacon and Jimmy Fallon. Enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.