Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Well hello, Clarice

(Which will only make sense if you've seen/read Silence of the Lambs).

I met up with a friend for a walk at the marsh this morning and when I got home I headed out to the deck to relax...and spotted an enormous waspy-thing in Jax's water bowl.  I knew right away what it was and had a debate of less than 5 seconds to know I was going to rescue it.  This is a European Hornet, the only true hornet species in the US, introduced from Europe.  They are larger than any of our vespid species, measuring in at an inch  to 1 1/4 inches (25-35 mm) and primarily eat other arthropods.  I know there is a nest somewhere in the area because I've seen one of them hunting bees and such in the garden recently.  Also, they are hard to miss just because they really are huge.  Anyway, I scooped it out of the dog bowl (on a leaf) and it spent a few minutes drying off while I took pics.  Then off it went.  I'm inclined to think this might be a queen, although I'm not really certain.  Side view in Extra so you can see all the beautiful colors.

It was't real "birdy" at the marsh although we did see several hundred Green Winged Teal and loads of swamp and song sparrows plus several Bald Eagles.  There is a cold front moving in over the weekend so there should be a lot of activity as migrants push south from Canada and the northern US.  We've made tentative plans to go again next week.

I have been unable to spot Miss Thing in the garden so I'm not sure if she wandered off or what.  Her very large ootheca remains and I will have to figure out what to do with it.  Not really sure I want hundreds of hungry baby mantids in my garden next spring.  I may just move it somewhere else.  Although a single ootheca can have upwards of 300 baby mantids, most of them won't survive past the first few molts as they make a good snack for nesting birds in the spring and summer.  

Had to take a nap this afternoon.  Definitely having some fatigue issues which I suspect is related to the RA.  I think a square of dark might help...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.