The Way I See Things

By JDO

Makeover

A 5am start with the Boy Wonder today was pretty much exactly what I didn't need, but I wanted his mother to get more rest, and figured I could always get more sleep myself after they'd gone back to Wales. In the event that didn't happen, and I spent the day mainlining caffeine and sugar instead, so I'm now vibrating like a humming top. This could be a long night.

We had thought that the Boy might want us to take him out today, but in the circumstances I wasn't sorry that he decided he'd rather stay at our house, especially as the weather was pretty changeable. He spent most of the morning doing creative things with Play-doh - all the while keeping up a running commentary in the manner of a Blue Peter presenter: "So. Now I have to put this piece on here. And then I take this one, and I roll it with the roller, like this. And then I have to cut it. And then I take this piece, like this, and I roll it between my hands, like this, to make a sausage. And then I BASH it, like this. And I cut it again, and I roll it again, and then I put that in there... and now it's finished. It's for you, Grandma!" I would have liked to film some of this performance because it was funny and charming, but sadly the Boy does not wish to be caught on camera at the moment - "Not inchrestin'!" he said yesterday, stomping off in a huff, when I tried to photograph him demonstrating to R the best way to push a swing - and I think it's only fair to respect his boundaries.

Later in the morning B requested music, and the three of us spent quite a while in R's study, singing an increasingly off-the-wall version of The Wheels On the Bus. By the time we had dogs, cats, lions and cows on there, along with the crying babies, shushing mummies and irritated daddies, the driver on the bus was going "STOP THAT NOISE!!!", which was apparently one of the best things ever. I can only hope that the staff at day nursery find this as amusing as the Boy did, because I'm pretty certain they're going to be hearing a lot of it. I should probably have written an apology note, and pinned it to his backpack.

Just after the Cardiff crew departed, the sky lifted and the sun made a brief appearance, so I grabbed the camera and went off to find some less argumentative subjects. The last Hawthorn Shieldbug I found in the garden, just a few days ago, was still wearing its rather garish summer livery - very much like this one, from last year. Today's specimen, which I spotted on the quince tree in the wild garden, is adopting a more autumnal palette that should serve it well as camouflage this season. Before going into winter hibernation it may even don a festive red outfit, though personally I think that's a step too far, and this subtle colouring is more elegant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.