Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Blip

By alfthomas

Up Close

Ruairidh
Ruairidh was thinking here we go again. Why do I bother coming to school. History again! He's an idiot. Battle of the Somme this week. I know more about the First World War than he does. Ye gods this is all so boring. Most of what he is teaching, if that is what you call it, us is just so much bollocks! It’s all based on 'official accounts'. My grandfather was there. He won’t, and never will, talk about it. But I know he still has nightmares. He doesn't know it but grandma has let me read his diaries. Now I am not saying that the official account that this man is teaching us is wrong. But when one reads a primary source, a first-hand account, like grandads diaries, it does make one question the accuracy of the official account. It's not only history, it's everything, I'm not learning anything in this bloody school! Whatever they try to teach I already know. The only lessons that I like are the English lessons. Mrs Dyer is great, she just lets me do my own thing and write. She freely admits that there is nothing she can teach me, but does encourage me to write. She says that she really likes what I write, and always gives very constructive criticism. The only teacher in the whole bloody school who ever gives me anything to think about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.