Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Japanese Anemone

Today is really mild. Warm this morning in fact yet the flowers are looking pretty dog eared and autumnal. Here's a reliable Japanese Anemone in the garden. 

Walked to and round Kings Park this morning stopping for coffee at the cafe. Sat outside and enjoyed tbe sunshine. 

Had a lovely surprise later when the postie brought a parcel. A pair of cosy cashmere socks from a famous cashmere shop. They're a present from my friend in Porty. She feels the cold so has clearly done her research. So kind of her. 

I had wonderful service from a public body today. I'd been puzzling over an address in my paternal grandparents' marriage certificate. The handwriting was impossible to decipher. I phoned National Records of Scotland and was advised how to request a rescan of the document. I did this (very simple online process) and within an hour a newly scanned document was emailed to me. All the information was clear as day and I now know that my grandmother was staying at 1, Ventnor Terrace when she and my grandfather married in 1924. But why there? As far as I know it wasn't her parents' house. My only suggestion is that it was nurses' accommodation of some sort. I'll have to find out but there's no-one left to ask. More digging around in archives! 

Wishing you a good weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.