eyesee

By davidc

Flower Friday

I spotted this little flower (less than 1.5cm across) near the back door in the garden today and chose it for my Flower Friday blip (thanks to BikerBear Anni). I don't think we planted it there so it's probably self-seeded. According to Google lens it's a Crane's Bill Geranium, known as Geranium Robertianum, aka Herb Robert - (I wouldn't have known!).

It looks best large.

Seemingly to many people it's an annoying weed but apparently the leaves have a pungent odour, described as mousy, like a fox or burning rubber. I can't say I've noticed this; I've read that the smell acts as a natural insect repellent so you can rub the leaves on yourself to deter mosquitoes! It can also be used to help keep insect pests off neigbouring more vulnerable plants.

As a consequence of this smell, in parts of North America it's called "Stinky Bob"!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.