Bluheron

By Bluheron

Angela Saini

Saini's book, The Patriarchs, an incredibly well researched and detailed history, has kept me engaged while I have been ill with Covid. 
The final paragraph:

"At the end of this journey--one that's taken me from deep time all the way to the turbulent present--I'm left wondering if the radical societies we create now could someday form the basis of tomorrow's habits and customs.  How can we rediscover our capacity to be socially nimble? We've developed an inertia when it comes to bold social and political change. We resign ourselves to the systems and institutions we have, even when we know they're not working. Standing at the precipice, we look back and feel terrified at what we might lose.
     Imagine everything that we could gain."

I recommend this book if you are interested in this topic. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.