littlemissquirk

By littlemissquirk

Les Mis

Up early early, took N to the airport for his París rugby trip and back for 7. Then my cab came containing my
two besties and off we went back to the airport and Londonium.

L’s mum died a year ago on Sunday and left money for a girl’s trip and what better than the magical combo of Les Mis and ABBA Voyage. This has been nine months in the planning so thrilled that we were stepping on that plane.

Seamless flight and found our cracking apartment in Maida Vale. A quick hop on the 98 to Soho for a wander, Aperols and calamari then round the corner to the Sondheim Theatre. Obviously too excited but the show was magnificent. I guess I’ve only seen travelling productions before so the permanent sets were phenomenal, beautifully lit and despite us being in the Grand Circle, very intimate. A friend of L has just taken in the role of Thenadier, which made it all the more fun to watch. There were no weak roles or singers ( yes, I mean you Russell Crowe) I laughed, I cried, I would have turned round and watched it all over again. Brilliant

Minor glitch just before the interval when the curtain suddenly came down. NOOOOOOooo. Just Oil protesters? Nope, Marius had come down with a lurgy and a replacement thrown in, and was better, phew.
A wee walk round the busy Soho, Piccadilly up Regent Street with me boring them both about ‘ when I lived here 32 years ago, that was TopShop/ Gap/ Chelsea Girl.
Home for a cuppa tea and Mamma Mia on Netflix.
Perfect day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.