still trucking...

By johnsmiley1321

still there at my dad's window...

After an easy day at work, I finally had time to stop at Costco to pick up a few things - like 100 pounds of kitty litter that is half the price of the grocery store and.. As I was looking at all the yummy stuff in the bakery, I noticed they had their peppermint bark out already. I lost it right there. That's a family tradition at Christmas going back many years. I already have gone through the holidays without my dad and I am very grateful my mom is still around - but she won't likely be at home for the holidays this year..

Strange how these moments come to you at the oddest of places. The first one Halloween - when the light will be turned off as I'll have to work in the early morning... and none of my mom's sugar cookies - I just might have to make a few this year.. Then Thanksgiving... My sister has had it at her house for many years now - but there is no way to get her up all the stairs to the front porch.... maybe at mom's place... we will have her wheelchair and...  then there is Christmas... When I came home the weather was perfect to mow the lawn - as I got out my dads lawn mower I looked up at his window and saw this little angel there.. the words are so true...

It'll be the kitty and I cleaning the house tomorrow...and both of us seeing mom on Sunday... yes Tiger gets to go for a ride...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.