Living my dream

By Mima

New arrivals

The six new chooks are settling into their new digs.

While they quietly explore their coop, and have a bit of food and water, the older three are shouting fit to bust about the invasion, albeit from the other side of the fence. 

I hope they shut up soon.

Bean, on the other hand, took no notice of them whatsoever, neither in the car nor when I carried their box to the run and let them out. Good girl.

The newbies will remain in the coop for a couple of nights, then I’ll open the door - on the left of the main photo - into the extension which I constructed last weekend. That will give them plenty of space in which to flourish.

I’m exhausted after the long day of driving two+ hours each way plus three stops. I called in on friends en route in both directions for leg stretches and a cuppa…and a natter about life, the universe and everything.

The extra is the view from the open car door while I had a picnic. It was a beautiful spot looking north towards the Otago Peninsula and Dunedin. 

It’s going to be an early night…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.