PandaPics

By pandammonium

Migraine

Parkrun this morning, back on our home turf. The weather was glorious for running in – cool, but not cold, with a refreshing, but not strong, breeze. Unlike some of my more recent parkruns.

I ran it this morning to get my tourist count record up to three from two. I started off with a friend, but she was too fast for me, so I found another friend and a vague acquaintance, but they were also too fast for me. I eventually found a first timer who was going at a pace that I could handle, so she became my run buddy.

We overtook my second friend and vague acquaintance after a while. They were probably doing a run–walk combo.

At times, I thought I could maybe go a bit faster, but I’d no doubt wear myself out too quickly, and have to walk. I’m trying to run 5k in one go again, like I used to be able to. Then I can focus on getting the time back down to below 40 minutes, then below 35. So I stuck with my running buddy until just before the end, when I started gearing up for a sprint finish.

This lad and his mam, who had overtaken us earlier, even though they were walking, were up ahead. The lad usually finishes in the top twenty or so, but he’s broken his arm and isn’t allowed to run.

The two of them were power-walking, competing with each other (not that parkrun is a race, of course). This was my one chance to beat him, and I went for it.

I sped up, focusing only on passing them; I did so easily, although if he started running, he’d win. He said he wasn’t allowed to run. I’ll admit to a degree of schadenfreude.

I swerved off towards the finish funnel, spying a bloke up ahead, almost at the finish line.

Could I beat him? Probably not.

Should I try? Oh, yeah.

I pipped him by one second. I was delighted, and I felt pretty good. Perhaps all that running in high humidity and high temperatures helped.

The lad and his mam came in not long after that (the mam first), then my running buddy. I hope she comes again; it sounds like parkrun would be good for her.

I will be back to my finish tokens next week. So much easier than running.

This afternoon, I continued reading one of the books I bought at King’s Cross. It seems the greeny-blue book cover with yellow writing isn’t out of favour just yet. This book also has the lit window.

The book is doing my head in in two ways.

Firstly, the writing: there are two many information dumps and too much backstory; the dialogue is long-winded. These things make for tedious reading.

Secondly, I got a migraine while reading it.

I’ve gone to bed for a lie-down.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.