This is the day

By wrencottage

Nutty Joys for the Nurses

I spent the morning baking so that I could send some biscuits in to the hospital via my son this afternoon for the hard-working staff there. He sent me a text saying I was now very popular with the ICU staff! 

I managed to visit Smithers myself later – he’s been insisting that I stay home and rest after getting so tired looking after him over these past weeks, but by this afternoon I was desperate to see him in person rather than just talk on the phone or on FaceTimes. My son kindly dropped me off so we could have time by ourselves and it was fantastic to sit and hold his hand, being very careful of all the canulas still inserted but not in use.

His glaucoma surgeon is coming in specially to see him tomorrow (Sunday) which is amazing. He will have his protective eye patch removed for the first time and hopefully it will be the start of a gradual improvement in his sight. 

However, the next hurdle is finding a ward which will admit him from ICU because apparently he can't be discharged home from ICU without going to an ordinary hospital ward first ... so far, a general medical ward has refused, saying they wouldn't take an eye patient. Now they're trying an ENT ward ...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.