David J. Rose

By djrose007

"Scrubs up well, don't he"! HAHAHAHAHA

A rare thing nowadays for me to be wearing a tie. In the morning I rode the bike the short few miles up to the Hatton Court Hotel where the 'RAF Masirah & RAF Salalah Veterans Association" were holding their annual AGM. It's a bit of a mouthful so we usually just say 'RAF Oman Veterans'.
And then, in the evening, we had our 'Gala Dinner', which includes an address by our chairman, dinner, then after dinner the toasts to the late Queen Elizabeth the Second, 'The King', The Royal Air Force, Departed friends. Luckily, I don't drink alcohol nowadays so I toasted with a glass of water, and anyway, I was driving my car in the evening.
It's always good to see these great people who served in Oman during the 1960's and 70's (my service there was July 1968 to October 1969).
Masirah itself appears to be a barren desert island when you land, and opening the rear of an Argosy aircraft (see extra) is like opening an oven door. When you spend time there you get to know the incredible wildlife that exists, in the sea, on the land and in the air. It's a place that you learn to love and appreciate it's harsh environment. I shall never forget it and did return, with the association, in 2014 for a 10 day trip from Muscat to Salalah, spending 3 days in Masirah. There's a few photographs either side of this one
www.raf-masirah.weebly.com

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.