FoundWanting

By FoundWanting

Woke up, it was a Chiemsee morning.

Peeled myself off the bed in the post equinox darkness at 5 am to catch a train to Bernau am Chiemsee, just over an hour’s worth of train travel SE of Munich. The train's final destination was Salzburg.

20 minutes before departure from Munich Hauptbahnhof I had the peace and quiet of the train carriage to myself. 20 seconds before departure I had the pieces and quills of Nordic walking poles sweeping inches from my face as the last moment masses surged noisily into the remaining seats.
My for once positive mood depolarised when I imagined that the whole horde would offload at Bernau. The noise and fidgeting with poles and rucksacks did not abate until I, and five others (sans poles, rucksacks and opinions) stepped off the train into the peace, sunlight and the comforting sting of cold bathing the train station at Bernau.

The hunt for a Bäckerei for breakfast yielded an establishment advertising a "Bayerisches Frühstück" for 12.50€ consisting of two Weißwurst, Brez’n and a beer! … I decided it was far too early in the morning for my tender English stomach and head to handle that very enticing offer, so coffee and rolls were had.

A half hour’s pleasant walk out of the village under a cloudless cool Bavarian blue sky to the Chiemsee.
Fortunately, probably to do with the time of year, there weren’t many people there. It’s that time of year where you encounter some people wearing full on arctic puffer jackets and others partaking in a leisurely dip in the lake. Either way it was people enjoying themselves before the storm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.