The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Too Good To Go (Sunday 8th October 2023)

It was the Spotlight Kid who told me about Too Good To Go, having just tried it out with great success in Dorchester with Mrs Spotlight Kid. I downloaded the app and had browsed online but hadn't actually tried it out until today. As it means one can get very tasty treats that would otherwise go to waste at a fraction of their retail cost it might very well appeal to Blippers, so there's a link to their site that explains the concept far more clearly than I could here.

The Spotlight Kid is much better placed in Dorchester than I am in the small town of Calne where there are far fewer outlets to choose from. Fay's Bistro and Infusions (practically next door) both make fabulously delicious and extremely unhealthy cakes and other desserts but sadly neither are currently in the scheme (I have suggested to both that they consider signing up), leaving just garage convenience stores and the like, unless one drives to neighbouring towns to collect the goodies.

I put in a request for a 'Surprise' bag at a Londis filling station on the Oxford Road. There are actually two, which I hadn't realised, and mine was the one furthest away, so I had a longer walk than anticipated.

However, it all worked and I came away with four cans of beer and four chilled Starbucks almond coffees, one of which I drank, sitting by the Marden watching the ducks and reading, on the way home. Two buzzards circled above me, calling to each other.

I think further investigation is required. Marlborough up the road, for example, might provide a more varied choice of suppliers.

In other news last night I watched the rented blu-ray film Renfield (Nicolas Cage, Nicholas Hoult) - it has to be in the top ten of the worst films I have ever seen.

L.
Sunday 8.10.2023 (1638 hr)

Blip #3970 (#3720 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #004
Blips/Extras In 2023 #176/265 + #085/100 Extras
Day #4944 (1164 gaps from 26.3.2010)
Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day #3110 (#2950 + 160 in archived blips)

Taken with Panasonic/Leica DC-LX100M2 M4/3 compact

Alcohol series
Still Life series
Recent Purchases series

Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day:
The Sundays - Folk Song (1997)
6 Music have been having a Slow Sunday across all their programmes today. I've been dipping in throughout and caught this on Tom Robinson's Now Playing. It's on their third and final album Static And Silence, which I do actually have, but I'd forgotten this particular song, with Harriet Wheeler's sublime vocal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.