Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

Autumn ICM

A couple of images using ICM and some post processing in LR.

Just a small tidy up job this morning on some holes that used for a tv wall mount that was no longer needed. Then on to something that has been giving some grief and worry for a couple of weeks.
Following significant broadband issues a few weeks ago, I decided to upgrade the router to one that provided sufficient features without going to whole small business router option. Decided on an Asus router, basically the modern version of the old we had had for many years.
Within a day or two of installing the new one, I got an alert from our ISP saying we had a problematic open DNS running on the day I made the change. I put it down to a period while doing the upgrade because everything looked ok.
I did extensive checks to detect security issues but found none - no pen ports, especially port 53 - DNS.
Anyways, I get another warning. So, some different checks done (nslookup), and, indeed, an open DNS server was running. Alarm bells start ringing - loudly.
I checked every device on my home network in turn, and not one was running a DNS server - just as I expected.
That left just the router. So, after some significant investigation with the remote help of my son, I made a couple of config changes that shouldn't have made any difference, but it did. Changing DNS settings showed that the router itself was running a DNS server which was serving external requests. It seems, there is a particular set of config settings that allows this to happen. It should not! A performance setting in the router turns on that DNS function externally which, in turn, allows the router to be taken over as a bot to create Distributed Denial of Service opportunity for other malicious actors. Not a happy bunny.....

So, on to doing some ICM experimentation in the garden. Hope you like the images.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.