JanVa

By JanVa

Thomas Jefferson Memorial

I stayed with friends in Washington DC and got up early to drive back to Virginia Beach. Before leaving DC I saw that the parking area on the Tidal Basin had some empty spaces and pulled in (that's right...empty spots...so you know I got up early!). I took some pictures in the rain but was not impressed. Then the school group appeared. Schools across America send groups of students to visit the nation's capitol. I watched this group from across the Tidal Basin stand together for a group photo and then ascend the steps to the memorial.

Thomas Jefferson was a Virginian known as the third president of the US, 2nd vice president of the US, and the first secretary of State; he was the author of the Declaration of Independence, and the founder of the University of Virginia.

I have added some back blips of trip to Martha's Vineyard, Massachussetts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.