Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Goodbye Ocean

Today we needed to turn inland to head for home. We've had a lovely weekend "getaway" to Laguna Beach. It was our way of crossing the Finish Line of a school year and crossing the threshold into summer.

I always love going home, but I've so enjoyed our time at the ocean that it was bitter sweet. So we stopped at Ruby's Shake Shack to split a sandwich and a bag of potato chips. While sitting there on a bench that faces the view up above those houses in our photo, a lady sat down next to me and casually asked if we were visiting or live nearby. I explained that we live about 40 minutes east and that we love the ocean and though we get to see it often, we never get enough of it. We've both grown-up with ocean water flowing through our veins and sand between our toes. She gave me perspective when she said, "We have to wait about 14 months between our visits to the ocean; we live in Kansas City." Wow! We might have gone two or three months without seeing the ocean this past February and March, but not 14 months. Perspective is valuable.

I have a TRUE CONFESSION: I woke up this morning to learn that Mr. Fun had blipped for me last night. We had been out late in Laguna. We were at a hotel rooftop pub to watch the sunset. It was spectacular even better than Saturday's blip because we were so much higher. Then after the sunset, we crossed Cress Street to stop for a bite of dinner. Then we walked back to our room and I was so tired, I went right to sleep. As I was dozing off Mr. Fun said, "But you haven't Blipped!" and I said something feeble like "I'll have to backblip later." We already knew that a photo taken earlier in the day of our favorite beach spot "Crescent Bay" would be our winner to "blip." So he posted the photo and then wrote the story and he never took credit. He could have signed-off with something like "This is Mr. Fun taking Rosie's place tonight." But he didn't.

So this morning I was so surprised. When I saw his words about viewing "flowers in captivity" I just laughed outloud. He is Mr. Fun in my life and I'll never get over being thankful that he's my best friend; he's not only loved me through the grand and great moments, but also through some terribly low moments. He has an ability to make me laugh even when laughter seems like it might be as far away as Two Beans, Idaho. So I want eveyone to know Mr. Fun wrote yesterday's blip story.

"Goodbye Ocean" is what our great-grandson said as he left us Saturday morning to head for home with his mommy and his great aunt, our daughter. And that's what we said today; however, our time away will be very short and we'll be back at the ocean again.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol


P.S. Many of you thought the wheatgrass story was "yucky." But it's continuing to be an almost daily habit. We found a nice little place to get fresh juiced wheatgrass in Laguna.

P.P.S. Connecting to the WiFi in Laguna was most difficult, so I will get back to regular commenting now that I'm home. I've missed many photos and I'm looking forward to back-viewing.






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.