kevinmcc

By kevinmcc

Lake Union

I don't normally shoot from the east side of Lake Union, but I had to kill some time before attending an evening meeting. I parked my car on a side street which appeared to have a good view point, and just happened to strike up a conversation with a local homeowner, who after seeing my camera asked me if I would like to come up to his roof top deck for a better view.

This image was taken around 16:30, looking west towards the Olympic Mountains which were pretty much obscured by some incoming clouds.

The tall bridge in the center of the image was originally built in 1932, and is officially known as the "George Washington Memorial Bridge," but is usually referred to as the Aurora bridge by most Seattle folks. This bridge was the main route between Canada and Mexico which is still known as Highway 99.

These days, most north / south traffic now uses Interstate 5, which was built in the 1960's and is just out of sight at the bottom of this picture.

Thank you Ben, for allowing me to take advantage of your wonderful view!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.