Auguries

By McCaviti

Purple Patch

Spring is such a good time to be hiking in the Blue Mountains but next time I’ll bring a wildflower guide. So sorry, I can’t tell you what these are, although they were plentiful (as were the waratah, egg & bacon, broad leafed drumsticks and so many more). Fabulous walks around Govett’s Leap - we couldn’t get all the way to Pulpit Rock but the helpful ranger pointed us to Braeside, which involved a lovely cliff walk and then a walk beside a river flowing along a rock slab. We’d never have picked it otherwise but it was a real treat and much less tramped than the cliff side walks.

Lots of steps so my knees are suffering somewhat. One poor young French couple were struggling along it with a pram and a toddler with a broken leg.

Lots of maintenance work on the tracks - a helicopter flying in stepping stones for down the bottom, and some abseilers removing invasive plants on the cliffs (I nearly blipped that, but I did loves these purple flowers so). I would share the beautiful (but cliched) panoramas I took, but you can’t load extras from a phone! You can’t reposition the pin on the map either (hopefully I’ll remember to do that when I get home, but it’s not too far off)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.