What I've Done

By JohnGravett

I went back with waders!

After my visit to the flooded south end of Derwentwater on Saturday, I decided to return today with my waders - the water had receded considerably, but I still managed to get into a location that I wouldn't have been able to without them on. 

It looks a very simple photo, but in order to get the bridge and grassy bank of the river clear of people, I did have to wait almost 1 1/2 hours. One lady in particular stood there with her dog for about 40 minutes, and brave walkers wading through the flood were causing a lot of ripples. Eventually everything came right, and the Sun even made a brief appearance. But shooting at 110mm, the depth of field was nothing like enough at any aperture to get the background, the bridge and some of the foreground grasses in focus, so I managed a focus stack (first one I've tried with a big stopper) - and I'm fairly pleased with the result. The tripod was 90% underwater for the whole time, so it needs a good dry-out. I'll certainly be back again in the winter when we get high water levels again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.