digitaldave

By DigitalDave

Not quite what it seems.....

Out on a bike ride today I went through the centre of Wetherby. I noticed that the area around the town hall was closed to traffic and there were two police cars with their blue lights flashing.
The traffic cones didn't stop my bike, and curiosity got the better of me!
In front of the town hall was what appeared to be a demonstration against climate change and there was a protester chained in front of the building (left in the shot) making a lot of noise. Suddenly a policeman with a megaphone demanded the protesters disband immediately - to no effect. One of the protesters was then manhandled away towards one of the police cars - in the lower shot. 
At this point I was frantically trying to snap the excitement with my phone. It was only when someone shouted 'CUT' that I noticed the cameras and microphones and realised what was actually happening. A young man then asked me to move on as I was in danger of photobombing the scene! He explained that they were making a short film about climate change for a competition.
How exciting! 

Update: I have found an article on facebook describing what was going on. I have put a screen grab in today's extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.