Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Hail gladsome light ...

This is the only photo I took today, taken just after I had got up. It had clearly been raining in the night, but the heavy clouds were moving away eastwards and there was this bright, hopeful gap in the clouds above Dunoon and our bit of the Firth and it looked so cheerful above the dark grey of the sea that I was at it again - that perilous hing out of the window in my nightie to get the photo. 

I felt I was moving from one task to another all day, once I got started. I went out after breakfast to collect a missing item from last week's prescription and popped into the surgery to check something for Himself. I saw the doctor who'd prescribed the booze-denying antibiotics and was able to tell him I was feeling suddenly much better after them, at which he did a little dance in the corridor; I also called in at the optician to leave feedback (good) on some new eye drops. Then, having dispensed enough good will for one day, I went home for coffee. We can't use our front path again - they left it in bits yesterday and didn't show up at all today. It's the rain, apparently, though there was none till afternoon ...

After coffee I dropped in on friends along the road who've had to cancel a holiday at the very last minute; I feel I have previous on this. We had some laughs before I left, which I suppose was A Good Thing. Then followed dinner and an episode of Endeavour which I'd recorded; not the best choice for a probable doze, because of my tendency to get lost. We had choir in the evening, of course, but before that we put in an hour's practice with another singing friend on a crazy duet for Friday's Harvest Supper, then staggered across to the hall for our regular rehearsal. We sang well tonight - some great blend.

I watched Episode 2 of the Jimmy Saville serial - Steve Coogan is, as one reviewer put it, "chillingly brilliant" but it's really tough watching it. 1972 looks and sounds like a different world. I also watched the main news - how can Gaza work for its people with no water or power? It's a horrendous unfolding. We're not very good at peaceful co-existence between peoples, are we?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.