BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Back In The Day

Supper:

1. Kelloggs Cornflakes
2. Mum's home-made egg custard
3. Three Jacob's Cream Crackers
     and a thick slice of extra-mature cheddar


I eat them, in that order, shortly before bed.

Breakfast can be bacon, fried eggs,
beans. Or porridge. Sometimes eggs
(poached/scrambled) on toast.

We're well filled and ready for the day
when my sister and me
set off to catch the school bus.

Mum, Dad, me, my sister – we
all have healthy appetites.
Who eats the most?

We eat meat (chicken, beef, pork,
lamb chops) for our main meal.
Veg: potatoes, sprouts, carrots, cabbage, peas
all come from Dad's vegetable garden.

Our council house has land at the back
which Dad makes good use of.
Several years ahead, when we have
a freezer, he won't bother growing peas
that need shelling. 'Frozen peas are just as good.'

We eat our meals at the table.
I sit opposite my sister and stare.
'Mum, mum, he's looking at me.'
'Ignore him. Eat your tea.'

I place four chairs round a table,
sit at it, picture Mum
to my right, Dad to my left. I face
my sister. But however hard I stare,
however hard I try to annoy her,
she's not there. None of them are.
Not one. None.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.