Renovator

By Renovator

A necessary

This is one of those instances my partner calls “shaving a yak”. You need something done which requires you to need three other things done first. In this case, I needed an outlet rewired in the basement. To do that, I needed to make room for the electrician to get access (clearing out excess “stuff”). I had some old fluorescent bulbs and metal housings that are no longer useful and shouldn’t be used. The fluorescent bulbs go for special disposal at the city yard and the metal housings go to the scrap metal yard.

A scrap metal yard is a fascinating place. The guy was kind enough to treat me with respect and gave me my receipt for the $2 for the weight of the items. You drive your vehicle over a ground level scale for the full weight. You empty your vehicle and weigh it again. My car was lined up among the pickup trucks that came to drop off scrap metal.

A necessary part of our civilized life that is inevitably placed in the poorer cities. I am grateful to those who keep the beating heart of our society going.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.