wingpig

By wingpig

dangled

The north end hook seems to be in something reasonably secure, but the south hook was pointing a little to the northwest after a ¾ load of washing overnight, so I spent my lunchtime poking around between ceiling and loft to see about a more secure fixing. The hooks I'd initially chosen weren't in stock when I picked up the pulleys so I went for the next size down, but even the longer ones would only just be able to poke the bottom of the joist after going through the tongued-and-grooven ceiling, laths, plaster and lath supports, though the screw end of the hook was at least aligned directly underneath the middle of the joist. Once the location and timings of children was sorted I popped quickly out to Toolstation for some nice long vine eyes, of which I now have nine spares, and some linkages. There was no option to mount the hanger in line with the wall on which the cleat had to be mounted but splitting the south pulleys, whilst mildly inelegant, results in a smooth motion both upwards and down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.