Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Slovenia - day 5

We were up and out before sunrise to drive to the Church of St. Primus and Felicianus  at Jamnik, to photograph the sunrise. We have been blessed with warm sunny days all week and today was no exception. The sun rose like a fiery ball as can be seen here, it was a lovely sunrise that was worth getting up early for. 

Once the sun rose we headed back to the guest house for breakfast. After breakfast we did our usual stop at the supermarket to get things for lunch, before driving to Planina Zajmniki to photograph the little wooden chalets. We ate our lunch there and then went to Srednja Vas to see St Marko church at Sorica - this country is full of churches, about 3000 for a small population of about 2 million people. The villages we drive through were very similar to the Swiss villages, with flowers in window boxes and the same architecture. The church was closed but we were very interested in the graveyard where we noted that often five people were buried in one grave (different death dates) which we presumed to be all family members. 

Then on to photograph another church in a lovely location with the mountain backdrop, as can be seen in my first extra. We drove high up a mountain pass and down the other side to reach this church, passing a ski resort on the way. I have had a bit of a tickly throat for the past couple of days, as we all have, and that drive has now caused me to suffer from earache as my ears kept popping with the altitude changes. I think I have a bit of a cold, not surprising when I am getting so little sleep.

We went back to Bohinj Lake to photograph the sunset, but the jetty we planned to use in the composition was no longer there! We wandered around the lake taking various photos, where I took the second extra.

Dinner tonight was at the restaurant at Lesce air field, it was sea bass and delicious. I have had some very good meals here, mainly sea bass and the other night I had a superb chicken and zucchini risotto.

I am taking paracetamol tonight for my earache and hope I feel better in the morning, its another early start....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.