TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

Another outstanding bit of brutalist architecture

What is it about hospitals that makes them so unappealing? In theory, they should be places of brightness and hope, but theory is rarely the same as reality. I spent a couple of hours at the hospital for an ultrasound on my left hip - as the surgeon's fellow has let the cat out of the bag that the surgeon has not done the greatest ever job. 

Dull, dank, dark, dismal. Nothing to lift the spirits (with the exception of the two Down syndrome kids working at the information centre. They were a delight. Friendly, smart and helpful, they were totally unsuited to their positions: not even a tut when I came back to clarify directions!). And while I am complaining, what is it about ultrasound lube that makes it so bloody cold? And why can I never fasten the gowns up properly?

Of course, all this complaining is because I am doing my best to not think about the horrors that are happening in the Middle East. This isn't going to end well for anyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.