Senior Moments

By seniormoments

Homeless on the Trail

We have a huge population of Homeless in Portland, largely due to a law passed several years ago that allows drug use without prosecution. We haven’t seen it much in the suburbs where we live, but lately we have seen more due to restrictions in the city on daytime camping on the streets. Today, on the trail I walk on daily, I watched this homeless man getting high on what I suspect was fentanyl. Apparently when they ingest the fentanyl it causes terrible stomach pains, and almost immediately he doubled over, which is a telltale sign of this awful drug. I know this is a sad, depressing. blip, but it’s very indicative of the problem our city and other big cities on the west coast are facing. Everyone has their opinions on the problem, but I say if we take away the drug use we eliminate a lot of the problem. What say you?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.