If you have an apple and I have an apple

If you have an apple and I have an apple and we exchange these apples then you and I will still each have one apple. But if you have an idea and I have an idea and we exchange these ideas, then each of us will have two ideas.  
George Bernard Shaw

Even if I knew that tomorrow the world would go to pieces, I would still plant my apple tree.  
Martin Luther


The content of two blips I saw this morning - from ceridwen about surveillance and kendallishere about living on the street - made me angry. A job application form I spent the day completing, to support voluntary organisations, kept the anger stoked (which made me think this job might suit me).

But I kept taking breaks:

Break 1 -  a cycle trip to the recycling centre - where I got angry about the amount of packaging that we seem to think is acceptable because it goes into a 'recycling' bin rather than a landfill bin. No. Not good.

Break 1a  - a walk to our local Traveller site in a hidden hollow of land near the recycling centre. I went thinking I might find some buttercups. Instead I was shocked to see that almost all the caravans/dwellings are now static. The Traveller couple in their 20s who I talked with have never lived a way of life that I observed when I was their age and working on Traveller education. Gone in one generation. So sad.

Break 2  - to take pictures of calming flowers when the rain stopped. Mostly I took pictures of a brick wall.

Break 3  - to take pictures of the tiny apples on our tree. Yes! It is pregnant! With triplets at least! This was the happiest bit of the day.

Break 4  - to try to find the world in a droplet when the rain started again. Fail.

In between times I took countless breaks to calm down and make tea and toast. But the application form will be finished very soon. Just one more angry paragraph to write.

You get the happy bit of the day (it's magic large). You might get the wall tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.