CharlieBrown

By CharlieBrown

Acts of love

It didn’t start that way … more a case of acts of frustration and irritation at myself for apathy, lethargy, lack of motivation, procrastination and prevailing sadness, or something I can’t quite define.
Anyway, it’s been lurking and loitering for a fair while, rolling around and in and out, like a haar, a sea fret of futility and ennui.
A prevailing feeling of the sucking force of entropy on a global and personal scale.
Anyway, I finally managed to get myself moving and finally managed to get this unfinished painting, that my husband did, protected with a coat of outdoor varnish because it’s on the garden gate and has been quietly fading as a result of my negligence.
At first I was glad to have just managed to get round to doing something, anything, then as I worked on it I realised my brush strokes followed those of the paintwork, each stroke done by his hand. Suddenly it became a deeply intimate moment of connection and impossible separation, and the void between the two, with the minefield of space debris to negotiate between them.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.