Photographic Poeticisms

By TerryRhiannyr

Another Goodbye

I've finally sold my lovely old Jolly Green, my old Landrover. So sorry to see it go. I sold it on Ebay and my description probably has to rate amongst the weirdest on there:


[quote]
My wonderful old Landy! Get it straight, I don't want to sell this car! When I bought her, she was going to be my last ever car!

But!

Age and time creeps up and grabs you by the sphericals and gives you a good shake!

She starts first time - every time! Cold mornings when I've scraped the ice off her windscreen and poured hot water over her frozen locks and warm mornings when I've ran out, opened her door, her sunroof and stood back while the hot air has escaped with a metaphorical sigh.

She's ran me and my family to the lakes, crawled hesitantly up the back lanes of Derwentwater's grandeur and sailed in splendour down Hardknot pass's delightful switchback, wandered sublimely through Exmoor's verdant lanes, nodding greeting to her elder relatives and roared in splendour through Cornwall's coastal defences before returning home with the fire of adventure shining forth from her headlights.

In short, she's a bloody great old lady with more fire in her veins than many an Olympic athlete, more staying power than a prehistoric monument.

If you are a Landrover enthusiast who understands the value of a 110inch wheelbase vehicle that can go where a piece of JapCrap would recoil in horror then please, put a bid in... Otherwise... remember..... the car in front (... ... ) .... of that long queue up the rock strewn gradient is unlikely to be sporting the Green Badge.

[/quote]


Amazingly it sold and the guy who bought it is coming to pick it up in the morning. So, another goodbye. Not as sad a goodbye as last Thursday but sad enough. Even the weather is sad at the moment and is set to remain so for the next few days. At least we have our youngest daughter's MSc graduation to look forward in the middle of July. A couple of days down in the beautiful Welsh coastal town of Aberystwyth will help raise our spirits. Just being next to the sea will do it for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.