snap_in_my_day

By snap_in_my_day

It's done...

Written by David...

This morning I ran my first event since completing the 1986 City to Surf where I suffered an avulsion fracture of the cuboid bone in my right foot that prematurely ended my running days. Earlier this year I decided to run the Bridge to Brisbane to run in an event with Ruben as at the time there was a chance he would be moving interstate in 2024.

It has been an interesting few months from being hit by a cyclist on the bikeway in late May to more recently battling against my autoimmune issues with rheumatoid arthritis in my left knee and bursitis and nerve problems in my lower right leg.

My aim this morning was to run the 10km course in under 50 minutes which I was able to do finishing in a time of 48 minutes and 37 seconds. I managed to finish 4th in my 65-69 age group.

Ruben has also been in the wars recently with a couple of viruses, a couple of injuries playing soccer and some joint and muscular issues with his leg. Ruben ran well finishing in a time of 38 minutes and 32 seconds.

It was nice to complete a running event with Ruben.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.