Living my dream

By Mima

Nose blip

It’s been yet another day of high winds: not gales, but bad enough to chase me out of the garden this afternoon. I am frustrated by this weather.

However I do have a lovely long list of indoor admin tasks to do. Given that at some point tonight the wind will give way to about 18 hours of rain, I’ll be glad of that particular list in the morning.

So instead of making inroads into it, I have been watching Nate Hagens’ latest Roundtable Discussion with great interest. In it he talks with three others about ideas to ensure food security in the future. 

It’s about an hour and a half, and if you’re interested in a short flavour of the discussion, I recommend listening from 5.30 to 12.20 minutes.

These are my people. They speak about my lifestyle, my reason for living, my purpose. 

Nate asked two questions which resonated strongly with me:

“How much of our (food) consumption is really frivolous, and could we be significantly happier with less, without realising it?

Is it possible to have people living smaller, more agrarian local lifestyles who actually start to get status for that, instead of being looked at as weirdos or on the fringe? Like “Oh my gosh, look how happy and healthy (they are) and what they’re doing makes total sense. Maybe I should try something like that?””

Music to my ears.

It is my life goal to demonstrate that a simple life is one of the happiest and healthiest ways to live, and that it’s not a total break from other people’s lives. There is a stigma attached to the lifestyle and I often feel very out of step with the majority of humans on this Earth. So it was a rare and beautiful thing to have validation for the way I live and think from these four luminaries.

I shall have a smile in my soul for weeks to come.

Bean supports the simple life: sleep, eat, sleep, play, walk, eat, sleep, eat, sleep in the sun. Her demands are very straightforward.

Happy days (despite the damned wind).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.