Andrew's Random Photos

By andrewhiggins

Tipi poles

Preparing for Glastonbury, where I'll be staying in a huge tipi. Quite a novelty in itself, even more so that I'll be helping to put the thing up! Actually, I really should be calling the tipi 'her', as North American Indians referred to them as female forms, the tipis as lodges, and the poles (lodge poles) were thought of as people. After all, the whole structure was their entire home, their base, and for a culture so closely linked to nature, their lodges had 'soul'.
I'm quite fascinated in the way the tipi I'm putting up, is just poles, canvas and rope, yet it becomes a sturdy, giant living space, and all done exactly the same way as it was hundreds of years ago by America's indigenous people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.