Shutterup

By Shutterup

Sweet

...peas fresh from the garden.  
The joys keep on coming!  I think  most people have grubbed out their sweet peas by mid october but I can't get enough of them at this time of year.. thrilled to find these before the frost did. Also that deliciously scented dianthus is a treat as I got this from a cutting from last year.  Small successes make life lovely. Last year I bought some flowers and there was a couple of sprigs of a grass.. very thin strands with tiny seeds on the ends.. turns out it was called witchgrass and I sowed some immediately in a plastic fruit container and left it outside over winter.  I was rather delighted to see it starting to grow around may time having rather given up hope.. I transplanted it in two pieces one in to a pot and the other into a border.. I have just found it flowering.. ie seeds. It looks so delicate and pretty but I thought it would be taller.. perhaps it didn't like being transplanted.  I will keep some seed for next year and sow it where I want it to grow and see if it does better.. Panicum capillare.. lovely!
This was the third visit for my new cleaner.. what joy.  The house has been pulled back from the brink and feels so much nicer.. I am a lucky girl today :)
We woke to the first frost of the year.. brr.. more blankets on the bed tonight or at least we might move into our winter duvet I think. I filled the Bird feeders yesterday now the cat is not here and they were surprisingly devoid of birds this morning but over the day they have paid a few visits.. it is good to have them back

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.