Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Lord Mayor's Show

Up at ridiculous o'clock to head to London again, for two days.

No dramas on the train, although we did have a slurper.  My extra sensitive hearing kept picking it up and it was driving me insane.

We were headed to the UN Global Compact UK Network Conference today in the Guidlhall, a very grand place.  My young padawan was with me and we had a good day and really good discussions.  There were a lot of good sessions and it stimulated a lot of thought on what we could do.

The positive for me was the enthusiasm of people, the successes they've had on their journey to net zero.  It has been a difficult time recently with the Government flip flopping and desperate for votes, and they've pulled the rug from under every business with their changing targets.  We had a government minister appear on the stage, Andrew Mitchell MP, and he was asked a couple of difficult questions, particularly one in relation to fossil fuel.  His view was that we've done a lot of work so we can take our foot off the gas now, this despite everyone in the conference reporting the results which clearly show we're not moving fast enough.  With business confidence in the government shattered by this changing of the goalposts, this might even stifle innovation now.

Staying in London tonight as I've got a meeting in our London office.

Today I am thankful for:

1.  Positive discussions with my young padawan
2.  A good UN conference

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.