The Way I See Things

By JDO

Contemplating

By the time I'd beaten my Mac into submission and started thinking about doing something more rewarding, the morning's sunshine had gone and it was cold and overcast in the garden. I managed to find a few subjects, though most had to be beaten or swept from their shelters. I made sure to apologise to them for the disturbance, and put them all back where I'd got them from afterwards.

I've posted Viburnum Beetles before, but this gravid female beats all the day's hoppers and shieldbugs simply because she posed so nicely, without any intervention from me. She was already sidling along the leaf edge when I spotted her, peering over the edge and apparently contemplating a jump. Presumably she was too cold to fly - I certainly was by this stage. Two frames later I had my shot, and left her to her calculations.

I've now posted a few images from yesterday's brisk trot around Trench Wood to Facebook, if you'd care to take a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.