clarity =

By joshw

sports

I have a love/hate relationship with sports. I was super athletic in school (read: K-12), I used to watch every Chicago Bulls game for Michael Jordan, Mavs games when I couldn't get a Bulls game, cheer the Cowboys, watch Sportscenter, collect baseball / basketball / football cards, going to Rangers games any chance I could, and watch Aggie games (if there wasn't a Cowboy game on) at family gatherings.

But, I also feel like they are too much. I don't even do half of that anymore. I check scores and watch things if I have nothing else better to do. A lot of the players are different nowadays. There isn't as much of "love of the game" as there once was. Advertising dominates and almost overtakes the games themselves. Much like regular journalism is turning into news media, so much is sports journalism turning into more gossip and who's juicing or dating, or whining or suing.

My artistic side is pretty dominate and fights with my sports side, but the sports side has died a little in the last couple of years because of some of the things I mentioned above. And it's only getting worse.

Still, college sports seem to be the only place that is taking longer for that to happen. Here's to hoping.

By the way, the Rangers didn't win. But it was a nice humid evening out, anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.