wild & precious life

By IrwellRiver

Ciao Italia...it's been a while!

Too long. 
I haven't seen you since 2018 and I realize now how much I've missed you. Covid changed things.
I've missed animated discussions in Italian with family over an aperitivo in the square before dinner...and proper coffee served at speed to be enjoyed standing up...healthy, delicious, non-processed food everywhere...perusing books late in the evening in the deconsecrated chapel now bookstore...and the geese swimming contentedly on the clear waters of the river Velino under the Roman bridge ...and the warm air that fills the ancient streets and alleys and whispers "welcome back", just like my brother in law when he embraces me and says "I am so pleased you are here again; we've missed you". But today, I got to experience all of these things again and I am so grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.