Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Angry birds!

Lurg-ridden, so I didn't go to work. I did very little all day, in fact, but at one point in the morning noticed two laughing kookaburras swoop in to land on a branch of one of the trees in our back yard. The pair sat there in silence for quite a while, and I snapped away happily.

Next thing I saw was three smaller birds come swooping in at tremendous speed, straight at the kookies; there was a big clatter as of beaks, amid fluttering and squawking, and off they sped, with the big fat male in slightly luke-warm pursuit. Then another came swooping similarly, but stuck around, and I could see it was a juvenile kookaburra (suggesting that the others were also; I would think the offspring of the pair I'd been photographing). This little one hopped about getting higher in the tree, with its mother watching, till it got close to directly above her, whereupon DIVEBOMBATTACK! it dove straight down at her.

It was all I could do to keep the camera a little bit steady. ;-) It all got motion-blurred and overexposed anyway, but it's the coolest shot of the day, so here 'tis large.

(Typical children.) xP

Edit: it's been pointed out (thanks, jensphotos), that the ninja-bird looks to be a butcher bird - which stuffs my story, but the spectacle was of course the same.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.