Marking Time

By Libra

The lull before Storm Babet

Tomorrow, we expect Storm Babet to hit Scotland.  The Met Office have issued a red warning, the first since 2015 when Storm Desmond caused considerable damage.
A meeting I was due to go to in Stirling tomorrow has been cancelled because of the forthcoming bad weather. So I made the most of a sunny cold and very windy afternoon with a walk around the Cockburn reservoir.
 
My friend whose allotment I have featured  here is busy hunkering down anything that’s moveable  after the last storm.  She found her garden bench had floated downstream about half a mile.  Other allotment holders lost raised wooden beds. One of the reasons for the severity of the flooding in this area is that the Forth river is tidal and if this coincides with rain then flooding occurs.
 
Fingers crossed tomorrow’s storm will not do too much damage. I can already hear the wind strength increasing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.