Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Autumnal Window

I’d geared myself up for a ‘home alone’ day - G off to play string quartets with three lady friends, and rain stopping me from getting out. But as it happens, the cellist has Covid so everything is cancelled, and rather than the forecast rain, it’s dry and comparatively sunny. 

G suggests a trip to Bodnant. I’m keen for autumn colours, but there’s little sign of this in trees we pass en route. Still, I’m pretty sure that Bodnant’s acers won’t let me down, and sure enough, the glade of maples is already putting on a show. Of course it’s really still at the ‘rehearsal’ stage; the full autumn glory show is still a week or so away. 

For the first time this year, I manage to walk right to The Far End, the lake now freshly cleaned of algae. Throughout the garden autumn’s harbingers are turning colour, little splashes of red and gold and orange amongst the predominant green.  

I must admit I’m pretty shattered as I make my way back up the hill towards the entrance, but once again it’s wonderful to walk so far with little pain - and unaided by a walking pole. 

My main today’s a view from the middle of the acer grove, with a collage extra of some of the changing leaves. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.