Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

"When I'm an old woman..."

"...I will wear purple.  With a red hat that doesn't suit me, and doesn't go and I will spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves..."  Time for our village's Scarecrow Parade which is done each year by the local school children.  I thought of the poem, "Warning" by Jenny Joseph when I saw this one.  The display of about two dozen scarecrows is outside out Town Office where I went to pick up my absentee ballot for November's election.  Speaking of being an old woman, while I was there, I picked up the town's guide for Seniors of resources they may need to "age in place".  I love the agency that co-ordinates this.  It is called "The Grateful Undead"!  How appropriate!  John will be here this morning to continue the cut down before our rainy weekend.  Gift#290: quiet weekends with a new book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.