Feorlean

By feorlean

Thanks to the foresters

Because of the closed bridge at Loch Striven when I went to Dunoon this morning for a meeting I had to drive all the way round by Strachur and then down beside Loch Eck.

This adds 20 miles to the trip each way, but I was making good time despite the very strong winds when  I came upon a lorry with its hazard lights flashing.  A tree had fallen just three vehicles in front of me and the road was  completely blocked.

Fortunately we were very  near Forestry and Land Scotland's local office at Glenbranter and within twenty minutes a squad had arrived with chainsaws.   

Five minutes later we were all on our way but on the return leg I was also stopped for a minute or two at the same spot as the debris was still being cleared. 

This collage shows  the three events  and bravo for our national forestry workers  - I am always proud to have been the Minister responsible for forestry when I held the Environment portfolio r from 2007 to 2009 and  as ever all those involved  rose to the occasion as soon as  required. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.