The Pensioner

By Pensioner

The calm before…

Breaking waves coming into the harbour. Not something I like to see. I didn’t think this Babet Storm was going to be too bad but by the following day the boat on the right, a 1961 36’ sloop, would be swamped and sunk.
But before all that, we had a visitor - F was up and we sat and caught up; I absented myself awhile and took a walk out the breakwater into the strengthening winds. I could see one of my junks (ropes that tie the boat to the mooring) was starting to shred. Something best attended to.
So later, with mayhem beginning to unfold around the harbour: Misty Blue’s rudder smashed, Indulgence dragged, Milly M breaking free, I got out to help get Bella off the slip and onto a mooring and with Keil and Sandy’s help got that extra line on my boat. By then it was getting dark. A woman arrived at the pontoon - we’ve two fishing boats coming up from Port Seton, she said, they’re getting trashed down there. Is it OK to come in? I told her we had no harbourmaster but the entrance was OK. Jees, in they came. Pretty large boats. I fear one of them was due to founder the next day too. Oh Lordy Lordy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.